ready. You are currently on: Organisation of the Flemish authorities

Organisation of the Flemish authorities

The Flemish authorities consist of:

The Flemish administration is subdivided into 10 policy areas:

Chancellery, Public Governance, Foreign Affairs and JusticeKanselarij, Bestuur, Buitenlandse Zaken en Justitie (KBBJ)
Finance and BudgetFinanciën en Begroting (FB)
Economy, Science and InnovationEconomie, Wetenschap en Innovatie (EWI)
Education and TrainingOnderwijs en Vorming (OV)
Welfare, Public Health and FamilyWelzijn, Volksgezondheid en Gezin (WVG)
Culture, Youth, Sport and MediaCultuur, Jeugd, Sport en Media (CJSM)
Work and Social EconomyWerk en Sociale Economie (WSE)
Agriculture and FisheriesLandbouw en Visserij (LV)
Mobility and Public WorksMobiliteit en Openbare Werken (MOW)
EnvironmentOmgeving (OMG)

Each policy area is composed of a department and several agencies.

  • A department is responsible for the preparation and evaluation of the policy and regulations.
  • The agencies implement the policy (for instance with regard to grants, taxes, public transport, road works).

The list of services of the Flemish authorities(opens in new window) is only available in Dutch.