Back to overview

Discovery of a Lineage of Soil-Dwelling Medetera Species with Multi-Coloured Eyes in Southern Europe (Diptera: Dolichopodidae)

Seven species in the genus Medetera (Diptera: Dolichopodidae) are described here: Medetera aglaops sp. nov., Medetera corsicana sp. nov., Medetera gibbosipyga sp. nov., Medetera hispanica sp. nov., Medetera lusitana sp. nov., Medetera parva sp. nov., and Medetera rectipyga sp. nov. They all originate
from the wider Mediterranean region in southwestern Europe (Iberian Peninsula, southern France, Corsica, Sardinia). The most striking feature in most of the species is the bi- or multicolour pattern of the eyes, most conspicuous in Medetera aglaops sp. nov. and Medetera lusitana sp. nov. This character
is shared by the male and female sex and is thus not regarded as Male Secondary Sexual Character. All species belong to the Medetera apicalis species group sensu Bickel and are closely related based on shared characters in the hypandrium and cercus. Interestingly, three species with and four species
without the basal pair of anterodorsal and posterodorsal bristles on the mid tibia are represented. This suggests that this diagnostic character has less phylogenetic relevance than previously anticipated. Unlike most Palaearctic Medetera, at least five of the new species are mostly found on rocky substrates
in dry biotopes with a sclerophyllous vegetation. This further supports their relationship with species of the Medetera muralis subclade sensu Pollet, Germann and Bernasconi.


Volume 13
Magazine issue 11
Type A1: Web of Science-article
Category Research
Magazine INSECTS
Language English

@book{bd1e8844-5f3e-43f2-8622-34f1fe3a0883, title = "Discovery of a Lineage of Soil-Dwelling Medetera Species with Multi-Coloured Eyes in Southern Europe (Diptera: Dolichopodidae)", author = "Marc Pollet and Rui Andrade and Ana Gonçalves and Piluca Álvarez Fidalgo and José Luis Camaño Portela and Frédéric Belin and Jonas Mortelmans and Andreas Stark", year = "2022", doi = "", language = "English", series = "", publisher = "", number = "11", address = "België", }


Marc Pollet
Rui Andrade
Ana Gonçalves
Piluca Álvarez Fidalgo
José Luis Camaño Portela
Frédéric Belin
Jonas Mortelmans
Andreas Stark